AMF : Information about Financial Investment Advisor status (FIA)

General Regulation

Print

Marketing Financial investment advisers

Information about Financial Investment Advisor status (FIA)

Published on December 3, 2014

Introduced by Law n° 2003-706 on Financial Security of 1st August 2003, the purpose of Financial Investment Advisor (FIA) status is to enhance investor protection through better supervision of these players in financial product distribution. Each FIA is subject to a certain number of obligations and prohibitions, supervised by the AMF.

Role and missions of financial investment advisors (FIAs)

Until the Law on Financial Security of 1st August 2003, financial investment advice was provided by professionals under a number of different names: asset management advisors, financial advisors, financial experts, etc. To protect investors, the role and missions of the financial investment advisor (FIA) are now governed by the Monetary and Financial Code and the AMF General Regulation.

The regular business of FIAs consists in providing: 

  • Investment advice
    Investment advice is defined as providing personalised recommendations to third parties, either at their request or at the initiative of the company providing the advice, concerning one or several transactions in financial instruments (Art. D. 321-1 of the Monetary and Financial Code).

    investment advice (shares, bonds, shares in SICAVs or units in common funds, derivatives, etc.),
  • advice on investment services (reception-transmission of orders for third parties, order execution for third parties, discretionary portfolio management, etc.), 
  • advice on the execution of transactions in miscellaneous property (subscription of life annuities, etc.).

The FIA may also receive an order from a client who wishes to subscribe to shares or units in collective investment undertakings (for example UCITS or OPCIs) for which it has provided advice services beforehand.

The FIA may prospect clients to propose its financial investment advice. It may also appoint natural persons to carry out such direct marketing on its behalf.

FIA professional requirements

When the FIA is a legal entity
When the FIA is a legal entity, it is the natural persons holding management or administration powers over that legal entity that must fulfil the conditions of age, good repute and professional skill.  

Conditions of age, good repute and professional skill, having insurance and membership of an authorised professional association, etc. All financial investment advisors (FIA) must comply with a certain number of administrative, professional and moral obligations.

Take out a professional indemnity

The FIA must be able to provide proof at any time of the existence of an insurance policy covering it for the financial consequences of its professional civil liability in the event of a breach of its professional obligations. The minimum cover levels of this professional liability policy are set out in Art. D. 541-9 of the Monetary and Financial Code.

Join a professional association

All FIAs must join one, and only one, professional association authorised by the AMF. This association is responsible for collective representation of its members and the defence of their rights and interests. The list of authorised associations may be viewed on the AMF website.

Be registered with the ORIAS

Each FIA must be listed in a register held by the ORIAS, after checking that the FIA fulfils the professional requirements in terms of professional skills, good repute, insurance cover and membership of an FIA association. This register also lists tied agents, banking transaction and payment service intermediaries and insurance intermediaries. It may be viewed by clicking on the following link.This register allows a single registration of financial intermediaries, thus making it possible to identify, for each of them, the various authorisations they have.

Not receive any funds that are not related to the exercise of its FIA functions, nor any financial instruments

The FIA must not receive any funds from its clients other than those intended as remuneration for its financial investment advice service. Nor may it receive financial instruments from its clients.

Pay an annual contribution to the AMF

FIAs must pay the AMF an annual contribution of a fixed sum of €450 for the AMF’s mission in supervising compliance by FIAs with the provisions applicable to them.

FIA business conduct rules

In order to carry out its mission and ensure investor protection, the FIA must comply with good conduct rules.

Duty of support and transparency

The FIA must comply with the following obligations:

  • behave loyally, act fairly and in the best interests of its clients,
  • conduct its activity, within the limits allowed by its status, with the skill, care and diligence required in the best interests of its clients, in order to offer them a service that is adapted and proportionate to their needs and objectives,
  • possess the necessary resources and procedures to conduct its activities and implement such resources efficiently,
  • obtain information from its clients or potential clients, before offering any advice, about their knowledge and experience in investment matters, and their financial situation and investment objectives, in order to recommend operations, instruments and services that are adapted to their situation. When clients or potential clients do not provide the required information, the FIA must refrain from making recommendations to them,
  • inform clients in an appropriate manner of the legal nature and scope of any relations it might have with institutions promoting the products and mentioned in Point 1 of Article L.341-3 of the Monetary and Financial Code (establishments authorised to commission or undertake direct marketing activities), and provide all useful information for the client to make their decision, plus all information concerning their remuneration terms, notably the pricing of their services.

All information sent by an FIA, including promotional information, must be accurate, clear and not misleading.

When the FIA pays or receives a fee, commission or non-monetary benefit to or from a third party relating to the advice service it provides to its client: 

  • the FIA must inform its client to this effect,
  • the purpose of this payment, commission or non-monetary benefit must be to improve the quality of the advice service that is provided and must not be detrimental to compliance with the FIA’s obligation to act in the best interests of the client.

Provide the client with all due information about its activity

The FIA must provide each new client with a document indicating:

Information in correspondence or advertising documents
All correspondence or advertising issued on any medium by an FIA acting in that capacity, must indicate:
>its name or corporate name,
>its professional address or that of its registered office,
>its FIA status and the identity of the professional association it belongs to,
>its ORIAS registration number.

  • its name or corporate name,
  • its professional address or that ot its registered office,
  • its FIA status,
  • its ORIAS registration number,
  • the identity of the professional association it belongs to,
  • its direct marketer status, if applicable,
  • if applicable, the identity of the institution(s) promoting the products and mentioned in Point 1 of Article L.341-3 of the Monetary and Financial Code (investment companies, credit institutions, etc.) and in which it holds a significant stake or commercial interest.


Draft a letter of engagement

Before offering advice, the FIA must submit a letter of engagement to its client, written in duplicate and signed by both parties. This letter of engagement is drafted according to a template prepared by the professional association to which the FIA belongs. It includes notably: 

  • acknowledgement by the client of the existence of the letter,
  • the nature and terms of the service to be provided,
  • the terms on which information will be provided to the client by the FIA,
  • the terms and conditions of the FIA's remuneration.

Formalise its investment proposals

The advice provided to the client is formalised in a written report showing:

  • the different proposals, 
  • Confidentiality of client information
    The FIA must not disclose or make use of information relating to the client outside the scope of its mission, on its own behalf or that of any third party, without the express authorisation of the said client.

    their advantages, 
  • the risks they involve.

These proposals must be based on:

  • an appraisal of the financial situation of the client, 
  • their knowledge of financial matters, 
  • their investment objectives.

Sign an agreement with the producers of financial instruments

The FIA is subject to the rules governing agreements between producers and distributors of financial instruments (Art. L.533-13-1 of the Monetary and Financial Code).

Have adapted resources and procedures

The FIA must implement the technical resources and procedures required for the exercise of its activity.

When it employs several people dedicated to its activity, the FIA must define an organisation and written procedures. It must also implement written internal rules to ensure compliance with regulatory and legislative requirements against money laundering and the financing of terrorism.

The FIA must implement resources and written procedures to avoid, manage and handle conflicts of interest.

Take training courses adapted to their activity and experience

Each year, the FIA must take training courses organised by their professional association to keep their knowledge up to date.

Role and missions of the AMF…

FIAs are subject to two levels of regulation. FIAs join an association which is authorised by the AMF.

… relating to FIAs

The AMF has powers to audit FIAs.

The AMF Enforcement Committee may sanction FIAs in the event of a breach of the rules and obligations applicable to them. The applicable sanctions may include a warning, a reprimand or a temporary or permanent prohibition from providing all or part of their services.

Instead of or in addition to these sanctions, the Enforcement Committee may pronounce a fine of an amount not exceeding €100 million or ten times the amount of any profits that might have been made.

… relating to FIA associations

The AMF is in charge of the authorisation of FIA associations. The list of authorised associations is available on the AMF website.

No later than 31 May of each year, the professional association must provide the AMF with a copy of its balance sheet and income statement for the latest financial year, and of the annual report describing, among other things, for the previous calendar year, audits carried out and their filing, training courses dispensed or selected.

It must also inform the AMF of any changes to the characteristics indicated in its initial authorisation application. The AMF then informs the association of any consequences there might be for its authorisation.

Any modification of the Code of Ethics must be submitted for the prior approval of the AMF.

Since the Law on Banking and Financial Regulation of 22 October 2010, the AMF has had audit and enforcement powers over FIA associations.

The AMF may also withdraw the authorisation of a professional association when: 

  • the association no longer meets the conditions or commitments of its initial authorisation,
  • the association has not made use of its authorisation within the previous twelve months,
  • the association has been inactive for at least three months.

 

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: Florence Gaubert, Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

AMF : S’informer sur le statut de conseiller en investissements financiers (CIF)

Règlement général

Imprimer

Télécharger

Commercialisation Conseillers en investissements financiers

S’informer sur le statut de conseiller en investissements financiers (CIF)

Publié le 26 mai 2014

Instauré par la loi sécurité financière n°2003-706 du 1er août 2003, le statut de conseiller en investissements financiers (CIF) vise à renforcer la protection des investisseurs par un meilleur encadrement de cet acteur de la commercialisation des produits financiers. Tout CIF est ainsi soumis à un certain nombre d’obligations et d’interdictions, contrôlées par l’AMF.

Rôle et missions du conseiller en investissements financiers (CIF)

Jusqu’à la loi de sécurité financière du 1er août 2003, le conseil en investissements financiers était exercé par des professionnels regroupés sous différentes appellations : conseillers en gestion de patrimoine, conseillers financiers, experts financiers, etc. Pour protéger les investisseurs, le rôle et les missions du conseiller en investissements financiers (CIF) sont désormais encadrés par le code monétaire et financier et le règlement général de l’AMF.

Le conseil en investissementLe conseil en investissement est défini comme le fait de fournir des recommandations personnalisées à un tiers, soit à sa demande, soit à l'initiative de l'entreprise qui fournit le conseil, concernant une ou plusieurs transactions portant sur des instruments financiers (art. D. 321-1 du code monétaire et financier).

Le CIF exerce à titre de profession habituelle :

  • le conseil en investissement (actions, obligations, actions de SICAV ou parts de FCP, instruments financiers à terme, etc.),
  • le conseil portant sur la réalisation de services d'investissement (réception-transmission d’ordres pour le compte de tiers, exécution d’ordres pour le compte de tiers, gestion de portefeuille pour le compte de tiers, etc.),
  • le conseil portant sur la réalisation d'opérations sur biens divers (souscription de rente viagère, etc.).

Le CIF peut également recevoir un ordre d’un client qui souhaite souscrire des parts ou actions d’organismes de placement collectif (par exemple OPCVM ou OPCI) pour lesquelles il lui a fourni au préalable une prestation de conseil.

Le CIF peut démarcher des clients pour proposer son activité de conseil en investissements financiers. Il peut aussi mandater des personnes physiques qui démarcheront pour son compte.

Les conditions d’accès et d’exercice du CIF

Conditions d’âge, d’honorabilité et de compétence professionnelle, souscription d’une assurance, adhésion à une association professionnelle agréée, etc. Tout conseiller en investissements financiers (CIF) doit respecter un certain nombre d’obligations administratives, professionnelles et morales.

Quand le CIF est une personne morale
Lorsque le CIF est une personne morale, ce sont les personnes physiques ayant le pouvoir de gérer ou d'administrer cette personne morale qui doivent remplir les conditions d’âge, d’honorabilité et de compétence professionnelle.

Souscrire une assurance

Le CIF doit pouvoir justifier, à tout moment, de l'existence d'un contrat d'assurance le couvrant contre les conséquences pécuniaires de sa responsabilité civile professionnelle en cas de manquement à ses obligations professionnelles. Les niveaux minimaux de garantie du contrat d'assurance de responsabilité civile professionnelle sont fixés à l’art. D. 541-9 du code monétaire et financier.

Adhérer à une association professionnelle 

Tout CIF doit adhérer à une, et une seule, association professionnelle agréée par l'AMF. Cette association est chargée de la représentation collective et de la défense des droits et intérêts de ses membres. La liste des associations agréées est consultable sur le site internet de l'AMF.

Etre immatriculé auprès de l’ORIAS

Chaque CIF doit être immatriculé dans un registre tenu par l’ORIAS, après vérification que le CIF remplit les conditions d’accès à la profession en termes de compétence professionnelle, d’honorabilité, de souscription d’un contrat d’assurance et d’adhésion à une association de CIF. Ce registre recense également les agents liés, les intermédiaires en opérations de banque et en services de paiement et les intermédiaires d’assurance. Il est consultable en cliquant sur le lien suivant [insérer lien hypertexte]. Ce registre permet une immatriculation unique des intermédiaires financiers et d’identifier ainsi pour chacun d’entre eux les différentes habilitations dont ils bénéficient.

Ne pas recevoir de fonds sans rapport avec l’exercice des fonctions de CIF ni d’instruments financiers

Le CIF ne doit pas recevoir de ses clients des fonds autres que ceux destinés à la rémunération de son activité de conseil en investissements financiers. Par ailleurs, il ne peut recevoir de ses clients des instruments financiers.

S’acquitter d’une contribution annuelle à l’AMF

Les CIF doivent acquitter à l’AMF une contribution annuelle d’un montant fixe de 450 euros due au titre de la mission de contrôle de l’AMF portant sur le respect par les CIF des dispositions qui leur sont applicables.

Les règles de bonne conduite du CIF

Pour mener à bien sa mission et garantir la protection des investisseurs, le CIF doit respecter des règles de bonne conduite.

Un devoir d’accompagnement et de transparence

Le CIF doit respecter les obligations suivantes :

  • se comporter avec loyauté et agir avec équité au mieux des intérêts de ses clients,
  • exercer son activité, dans les limites autorisées par son statut, avec la compétence, le soin et la diligence qui s'imposent au mieux des intérêts de ses clients, afin de leur proposer une offre de services adaptée et proportionnée à leurs besoins et à leurs objectifs,
  • être doté des ressources et procédures nécessaires pour mener à bien ses activités et mettre en œuvre ces ressources et procédures avec un souci d'efficacité,
  • s'enquérir auprès de ses clients ou de ses clients potentiels, avant de formuler un conseil, de leurs connaissances et de leur expérience en matière d'investissement, ainsi que de leur situation financière et de leurs objectifs d'investissement, pour pouvoir leur recommander les opérations, instruments et services adaptés à leur situation. Lorsque les clients ou les clients potentiels ne communiquent pas les informations requises, le CIF s'abstient de leur faire des recommandations,
  • communiquer aux clients d'une manière appropriée, la nature juridique et l'étendue des éventuelles relations entretenues avec les établissements promoteurs de produits mentionnés au 1° de l'article L.341-3 du code monétaire et financier (établissements pouvant recourir ou se livrer à une activité de démarchage), les informations utiles à la prise de décision par ces clients ainsi que celles concernant les modalités de sa rémunération, notamment la tarification de ses prestations.

Toutes les informations, y compris à caractère promotionnel, adressées par un CIF, doivent présenter un caractère exact, clair et non trompeur.

Lorsque, en liaison avec la prestation de conseil à son client, le CIF verse à un tiers ou perçoit d’un tiers une rémunération, une commission, ou un avantage non monétaire :

  • le CIF doit en informer son client,
  • cette rémunération, commission ou avantage non monétaire doit avoir pour objet d’améliorer la qualité de la prestation de conseil fournie et ne doit pas nuire au respect de l’obligation du CIF d’agir au mieux des intérêts du client.

Fournir au client toutes les informations relatives à son activité 

Le CIF doit remettre à chaque nouveau client un document comportant :

L’information dans les correspondances ou les documents promotionnels
Toute correspondance ou communication à caractère promotionnel, quel qu'en soit le support, émanant d'un CIF agissant en cette qualité indique :
- son nom ou sa dénomination sociale,
- son adresse professionnelle ou celle de son siège social,
- son statut de CIF et l'identité de l'association professionnelle à laquelle il adhère, et
- son numéro d'immatriculation à l’ORIAS.
 

  • son nom ou sa dénomination sociale,
  • son adresse professionnelle ou celle de son siège social,
  • son statut de CIF,
  • son numéro d’immatriculation à l’ORIAS,
  • l'identité de l'association professionnelle dont il est membre,
  • le cas échéant, son statut de démarcheur,
  • le cas échéant, l'identité du ou des établissements promoteurs de produits mentionnés au 1° de l'article L. 341-3 du code monétaire et financier (entreprises d’investissement, établissements de crédit, etc.) avec lesquels il entretient une relation significative de nature capitalistique ou commerciale.

Rédiger une lettre de mission

Avant de formuler un conseil, le CIF doit remettre à son client une lettre de mission, rédigée en double exemplaire et signée par les deux parties. Cette lettre de mission est rédigée selon un modèle-type élaboré par l'association professionnelle à laquelle le CIF adhère. Elle comporte notamment :

  • la prise de connaissance par le client de l'existence de cette lettre,
  • la nature et les modalités de la prestation fournie,
  • les modalités de l'information fournie par le CIF au client,
  • les modalités de la rémunération du CIF.

Formaliser ses propositions d’investissement

Le conseil au client est formalisé dans un rapport écrit justifiant :

  • les différentes propositions,
  • leurs avantages,
  • les risques qu'elles comportent.  

La confidentialité des informations relatives au client
Le CIF ne doit pas communiquer ou exploiter, en dehors de sa mission, pour son compte propre ou pour le compte d'autrui, les informations relatives à son client sans l'autorisation expresse de celui-ci.

Ces propositions doivent se fonder sur :

  • l'appréciation de la situation financière du client,
  • sa connaissance de la matière financière,
  • ses objectifs en matière d'investissements.

Conclure une convention avec les producteurs d’instruments financiers 

Le CIF est soumis aux règles régissant les conventions entre producteurs et distributeurs d'instruments financiers (art. L. 533-13-1 du code monétaire et financier).

Disposer de moyens et de procédures adaptées

Le CIF doit disposer de moyens techniques et de procédures adaptées à l'exercice de son activité.
Lorsqu'il emploie plusieurs personnes dédiées à l'exercice de son activité, le CIF doit se doter d'une organisation et de procédures écrites. Il doit en outre mettre en place des règles écrites internes visant au respect des exigences réglementaires et législatives en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme.
Le CIF doit se doter de moyens et de procédures écrites lui permettant d'éviter, de gérer et de traiter les conflits d'intérêts.

Suivre des formations adaptées à leur activité et à leur expérience

Les CIF doivent suivre chaque année des formations organisées par leur association pour actualiser leurs connaissances.

Rôle et missions de l’AMF…

Les CIF sont soumis à une régulation à deux niveaux. Les CIF adhèrent à une association de CIF qui est agréée par l’AMF.

… à l’égard des CIF 

L'AMF dispose d'un pouvoir de contrôle des CIF.

La Commission des sanctions de l’AMF peut sanctionner les CIF en cas de manquement aux règles et obligations qui leur sont applicables. Les sanctions applicables sont par exemple l’avertissement, le blâme ou encore l’interdiction temporaire ou définitive de l’exercice de tout ou partie des services fournis.

La Commission des sanctions peut prononcer soit à la place, soit en sus de ces sanctions, une sanction pécuniaire dont le montant ne peut être supérieur à 100 millions d’euros ou au décuple du montant des profits éventuellement réalisés.

… à l’égard des associations de CIF 

L’AMF est en charge de l’agrément des associations de CIF. La liste des associations agréées figure sur le site internet de l’AMF.

L'association professionnelle communique à l'AMF, le 31 mai de chaque année au plus tard, une copie du bilan et du compte de résultat du dernier exercice comptable et un rapport d'activité décrivant notamment, pour l’année civile précédente, les contrôles effectués et leur archivage, les formations dispensées ou sélectionnées.

Elle informe également l'AMF de tout changement portant sur les éléments caractéristiques qui figuraient dans le dossier d'agrément initial. L'AMF fait alors connaître à l'association les conséquences éventuelles sur son agrément.
Toute modification du code de déontologie doit être soumise à l'approbation préalable de l'AMF.

Depuis la loi de régulation bancaire et financière du 22 octobre 2010, l’AMF dispose d’un pouvoir de contrôle et de sanction à l’égard des associations de CIF.
Par ailleurs, l'AMF peut retirer l'agrément d'une association professionnelle lorsque :

  • l'association ne satisfait plus aux conditions ou aux engagements auxquels était subordonné son agrément,
  • l'association n'a pas fait usage de son agrément dans un délai de douze mois,
  • l'association n'exerce plus son activité depuis au moins trois mois.

 

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Directeur de la publication : Florence Gaubert, Directrice de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02