AMF : Multilateral trading facilities

General Regulation

Print

Financial markets & infrastructures Other trading venues: Multilateral trading facilities

Multilateral trading facilities

Published on May 30, 2013

Under Article L. 424-1 of the Monetary and Financial Code, a multilateral trading facility (MTF), which does not have regulated market status, may be operated by an investment services provider (ISP) authorised to supply an investment service or by a market operator.

Authorised by the AMF or ACPR

The rules for authorising an MTF depend on whether it is operated by a market operator or an ISP. In the first case, the AMF authorises MTFs after receiving the opinion of the Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR). In the second case, the ACPR grants authorisation after first consulting with the AMF.

The authorities review the MTF’s operating rules, the type of transactions proposed, organisational structure, human and material resources, settlement arrangements, where applicable, mechanisms for clearing trades executed within the system, and internal control arrangements.

AMF supervision

The MTF’s rules, and any amendments, must be submitted to the AMF before they come into force. The AMF may prevent these rules from being enforced if it considers that they do not comply with regulatory provisions.

The AMF approves the market rules of organised MTFs (OMTFs). These are trading platforms that are subject to the provisions of Articles 524-1 et seq. AMF General Regulation, which include applying for approval of market rules, being subject to the provisions of the AMF General Regulation on market abuse and establishing a mandatory bid procedure.

Obligations

The MTF operator must adopt transparent and non-discretionary rules ensuring a fair and orderly trading process and setting objective criteria for efficient order execution (Article L. 424-2 of the Monetary and Financial Code).

The rules set transparent criteria for the admission of financial instruments to trading. Unlike on regulated markets, a security may be admitted to trading without the issuer’s agreement. In this case, the issuer has no financial disclosure obligations towards the MTF operator.

Seven multilateral trading facilities have been authorised in France
> Alternext Paris, Marché Libre and Alternativa, for share trading;
> MTS, NYSE BondMatch and Galaxy, for bond trading;
> Powernext, for CO2 allowance trading.
Only Alternext, NYSE BondMatch and Galaxy have OMTF status.

To meet pre-trade transparency obligations, the MTF operator must publish bid and offer prices and the corresponding number of securities, in the case of shares admitted to trading on a regulated market. To satisfy post-trade transparency obligations, it then publishes the price, volume and time of executed trades in shares admitted to trading on a regulated market

The MTF operator must check that its members comply with the rules and ensure orderly trading in the system. It informs the AMF of any breaches of its rules and of any trading conditions that could impair orderly market operation or, in the case of shares admitted to trading on a regulated market, any behaviour that could potentially signal market abuse. An OMTF operator provides the same oversight for all securities admitted to trading.

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: Florence Gaubert, Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Règlement général

Imprimer

Télécharger

Marchés financiers & infrastructures Autres lieux de négociation: Systèmes multilatéraux de négociation

Les systèmes multilatéraux de négociation

Publié le 30 avril 2013

Conformément à l’article L. 424-1 du code monétaire et financier, sans avoir la qualité de marché réglementé, les systèmes multilatéraux de négociation (SMN) peuvent être gérés par un prestataire de services d'investissement agréé pour fournir le service d'investissement ou par une entreprise de marché.

Un agrément de l’AMF ou de l’ACPR

Les règles d’autorisation d’un système multilatéral de négociation divergent selon qu’il est géré par une entreprise de marché ou par un prestataire de services d’investissement. Dans le premier cas, l’autorisation est donnée par l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) après avis de l’Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR). Dans le second cas, l’agrément est délivré par l’ACPR après consultation préalable de l’AMF.

Les autorités examinent, en particulier, les règles de fonctionnement du système, le type d’opérations envisagées, la structure de l’organisation, les moyens humains et matériels mis en œuvre, le dispositif de règlement livraison, le cas échéant, les mécanismes de compensation des transactions exécutées au sein du système et le dispositif de contrôle interne.

La supervision de l’AMF

Les règles du système, ainsi que leurs modifications, sont transmises à l'Autorité des marchés financiers avant leur entrée en vigueur. L'AMF peut s'opposer à leur mise en application si elle estime que ces règles ne sont pas compatibles avec les dispositions réglementaires.

Par contre, l’AMF approuve les règles de marché des systèmes multilatéraux de négociation dit « organisés » (SMNO). Ce sont des plates-formes de négociation qui se soumettent aux dispositions des articles 524-1 et suivants du règlement général de l’AMF en demandant notamment l’approbation de leurs règles de marché, en se soumettant aux dispositions du règlement général de l’AMF relatives aux abus de marché et en prévoyant une procédure d'offre publique obligatoire.

Des obligations à respecter

Le gestionnaire du système multilatéral de négociation doit établir des règles transparentes et non discrétionnaires, garantissant un processus de négociation équitable et ordonné et fixant des critères objectifs pour une exécution efficace des ordres (article L. 424-2 du code monétaire et financier).

Les règles du système fixent des critères transparents concernant l'admission des instruments financiers aux négociations. Contrairement aux marchés réglementés, un titre financier peut être admis aux négociations sans requérir l’accord de l’émetteur. Dans un tel cas, celui-ci n'est soumis à aucune obligation d'information financière à l'égard de la personne qui gère le système. 

6 systèmes multilatéraux de négociations agréés en France
> Alternext Paris, le Marché libre et Alternativa qui admettent à la négociation des actions ;
> MTS, NYSE BondMatch et Galaxy qui permettent la négociation d’obligations ;
Seuls Alternext, NYSE BondMatch et Galaxy ont le statut de système multilatéral de négociation organisé (SMNO).

La personne qui gère un système multilatéral de négociation publie les prix à l'achat et à la vente ainsi que le nombre de titres financiers correspondant pour les actions admises aux négociations sur un marché réglementé. Il s’agit de la transparence pré-négociation Elle publie également le prix, le volume et l'heure des transactions exécutées sur des actions admises aux négociations sur un marché réglementé. C’est la transparence post-négociation.

Le gestionnaire du système multilatéral de négociation doit contrôler que ses membres respectent les règles et surveiller le bon déroulement des transactions effectuées sur son système. Il informe l'AMF des manquements à ses règles et de toute condition de négociation de nature à perturber le bon ordre du marché ou, pour les actions admises aux négociations d’un marché réglementé, tout comportement potentiellement générateur d’un abus de marché. Le gestionnaire du système multilatéral de négociation organisé assure la même surveillance pour l’ensemble des titres admis à ses négociations.

Haut de page