Print

Board Presentation

About the AMF Board

Published on May 28, 2013

A 16-member Board executes the tasks assigned to the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF). The Board is the AMF’s main decision-making body and is responsible for adopting new regulations, taking individual decisions and reviewing inspection and investigation reports. As the prosecutorial body, it is entitled to instigate sanction proceedings.

Contents

Role

The Board is the AMF’s main decision-making body and is responsible for adopting new regulations, examining individual cases considered by the AMF and opening sanction proceedings. Decisions are taken by majority vote.

Adopt new regulations

The AMF General Regulation governs execution of the tasks assigned to the regulator. All amendments to the General Regulation are adopted by the Board and published in the Official Journal, after being ratified by decree by the Minister for the Economy. The Board also approves AMF instructions, recommendations and positions –collectively referred to as AMF “policy” – which clarify how the General Regulation should be interpreted, along with the guidelines issued by the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA).

Take individual decisions

The Board examines the individual cases reviewed by AMF departments. These range from decisions on the compliance of takeover bids involving listed companies, authorisations for management companies (without which they cannot do business) or collective investment products (without which they cannot be marketed) and approvals for corporate finance transactions. Once it has conducted its review, the Board issues a decision on each case.

Instigate injunction proceedings and take emergency measures

The Board may issue cease and desist orders regarding practices contrary to law or regulation when such practices impair investors' rights or manipulate the market.

Examine inspection and investigation reports and open sanction proceedings

After reviewing inspection and investigation reports, the AMF Board decides whether to open sanction proceedings. If it does initiate proceedings, it serves a statement of objections to the person whose conduct is in question and sends the case to the Enforcement Committee for review. In certain circumstances, the Board may make an offer of settlement to the respondent and thus avoid opening sanction proceedings. If the investigation or inspection report reveals criminal offences, the Board will forward the case to the Public Prosecutor.

Take decisions about its own operating procedures

The Board’s powers to open sanction proceedings are delegated to three six-person Specialised Commissions composed of its own members and chaired by the AMF Chairman.

Take decisions about the AMF’s operating procedures

The Board gives its opinion on the Chairman’s proposed candidate for Secretary General, adopts the AMF's budget on the recommendation of the Secretary General, approves the AMF's financial statements, sets bylaws and ethical rules for staff, as well as the general terms of recruitment, employment and remuneration for AMF employees.

Members

The Board has 16 members drawn from a variety of backgrounds

The Board comprises 16 members from a variety of backgrounds, with representatives from the Conseil d’État, the Court of Cassation, the Cour des Comptes, the Banque de France, the Autorité des Normes Comptables, as well as professionals selected for their financial and legal expertise and experience in areas such as securities offerings and collective investing. This ensures that the Board has the technical and legal expertise to carry out its tasks. The appointment process and the length of Board members’ terms of office ensure independence.

The Chairman of the AMF also chairs the Board

The AMF Chairman, who also chairs the Board, is appointed by a presidential decree for a non-renewable irrevocable five-year term. The Chairman has a casting vote in the event that Board votes are tied, is empowered to act on behalf of the AMF before any court or tribunal and may, after seeking the Board’s opinion, appeal against Enforcement Committee rulings. The Chairman submits the AMF’s Annual Report to the President of the Republic, the Presidents of the National Assembly and Senate, and may be interviewed by Parliament on specific topics. The Chairman is subject to the rules of disqualification for public office.

In exceptional circumstances where the stability of the financial system is under threat, the AMF Chairman has emergency powers to restrict trading in financial instruments on the markets for a limited length of time.

Board members: five-year term of office, renewable once

Board members other than the Banque de France representative and the Chairman of the Autorité des Normes Comptables (who are appointed by virtue of their position) serve a five-year term of office, renewable once. One-half of the Board is renewed every thirty months

Ethical rules to prevent conflicts of interest

Board members are subject to professional secrecy obligations. To prevent conflicts of interest in the cases brought before them, they are also subject to ethical and conflict of interest rules.

These rules, which are set out in the Monetary and Financial Code and the AMF General Regulation, precisely govern the terms under which Board members must discharge their duties:

  • obligation to disclose positions, assignments or appointments that they hold or have held
  • obligation to disclose the list of securities that they hold
  • ban on taking part in decisions on cases involving companies or organisations in which they (or persons close to them) hold or have held positions or an interest.

Contents

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: Florence Gaubert, Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

AMF : Présentation du Collège de l’AMF

Règlement général

Imprimer

Télécharger

Collège Présentation

Présentation du Collège de l’AMF

Publié le 31 mars 2015

Les missions confiées à l’Autorité des marchés financiers sont exercées par un Collège constitué de 16 membres. Principal organe décisionnel de l’AMF, ses compétences portent sur : l’adoption de nouvelles réglementations, les décisions individuelles ainsi que l’examen des rapports de contrôle et d’enquête. En tant qu’autorité de poursuite de l'AMF, le Collège décide l’ouverture des procédures de sanction.

Son rôle

Le Collège est le principal organe décisionnel de l’Autorité des marchés financiers. Son rôle consiste notamment à adopter les nouvelles réglementations, examiner les dossiers individuels instruits par l’AMF, et ouvrir des procédures de sanction. Ses décisions sont prises à la majorité des voix.

Adopter les nouvelles réglementations

L’exécution des missions de l'Autorité des marchés financiers est encadrée par un règlement général. Adoptées par le Collège, toutes les modifications du règlement général sont publiées au Journal officiel, après homologation par arrêté du ministre chargé de l'Économie. En outre, le Collège approuve les instructions, les recommandations et les positions de l’AMF appelées « doctrine de l’AMF » qui précisent l'interprétation de son règlement général ou les orientations définies par l’Autorité européenne des marchés financiers (ESMA).

Prendre des décisions individuelles

Le Collège examine l’ensemble des dossiers individuels instruits par les services de l’AMF. Il peut s’agir de décisions de conformité d’offres publiques d’achat lancées sur des sociétés cotées, ou d’agréments des sociétés gestion (agrément sans lesquels lesdites sociétés ne peuvent exercer) ou d’agrément de produits d’épargne collective (sans lequel les produits en question ne peuvent être commercialisés) ou encore de viser des opérations financières. Le Collège se prononce sur chaque dossier à l'issue de cet examen.

Engager des procédures d’injonction et prendre des mesures d’urgence

Le Collège peut ordonner qu'il soit mis fin aux pratiques contraires aux lois ou règlements, lorsque ces pratiques sont de nature à porter atteinte aux droits des épargnants ou ont pour effet de fausser le marché.

Examiner les rapports de contrôle et d’enquête & ouvrir les procédures de sanction

Après examen des rapports de contrôle et d’enquête, le Collège peut décider d’ouvrir une procédure de sanction. Il informe alors les personnes mises en cause des faits qui leur sont reprochés et transmet le dossier à la Commission des sanctions pour instruction. Sous certaines conditions, le Collège peut proposer aux mis en cause de conclure un accord. Ce dispositif dit de transaction permet d’éviter l’ouverture d’une procédure de sanctions. Si le rapport d'enquête ou de contrôle fait état d’éventuelles infractions pénales, le Collège transmet le dossier au procureur de la République.

Prendre des décisions relatives à son propre fonctionnement

Le Collège délègue ses compétences relatives à l’ouverture des procédures de sanction à trois commissions de six membres constituées en son sein et présidées par le président de l’AMF. Ce sont les commissions spécialisées.

Prendre des décisions relatives au fonctionnement de l’AMF

Le Collège donne son avis sur la proposition du président concernant la désignation du secrétaire général. Il arrête le budget de l'AMF sur proposition du secrétaire général et approuve le compte financier. Il fixe le règlement intérieur, les règles de déontologie interne et les conditions générales de recrutement, d'emploi et de rémunération des collaborateurs de l'AMF. 

Ses membres

16 membres aux profils différents 

Le Collège est composé de 16 membres qui viennent d’univers différents : membres issus du Conseil d’État, de la Cour de cassation, de la Cour des comptes, de la Banque de France, de l’Autorité des normes comptables et membres professionnels désignés pour leurs compétences financières et juridiques et leur expérience en matière d’offre publique de titres financiers, de gestion collective, etc. Cette pluridisciplinarité assure au Collège les compétences techniques et juridiques nécessaires à l’accomplissement de ses missions. Le mode de nomination et la durée des mandats sont la garantie de son indépendance.

Un Collège présidé par le président de l’AMF 

Le président de l’AMF est le président du Collège. Il est nommé par décret du président de la République pour un mandat non révocable de cinq ans, non renouvelable. Il bénéficie d’une voix prépondérante lors des délibérations, en cas de partage des voix. Il a qualité pour agir au nom de l’institution devant toute juridiction et peut, après avis du Collège, former un recours à l’encontre d’une décision de la Commission des sanctions. Il présente chaque année le rapport annuel de l’AMF au président de la République, aux présidents de l’Assemblée nationale et du Sénat et peut être auditionné par le Parlement sur des sujets particuliers. Il est soumis aux règles d’incompatibilité prévues pour les emplois publics.

Les membres du Collège : un mandat de 5 ans, renouvelable 1 fois 

A l’exception du représentant de la Banque de France et du président de l’Autorité des normes comptables (nommés au titre de leurs fonctions), la durée du mandat des membres du Collège est de 5 ans. Ce mandat est renouvelable une fois. Le Collège est renouvelé par moitié tous les trente mois.

Des règles déontologiques pour prévenir les conflits d’intérêts

Les membres du Collège sont tenus au secret professionnel. Afin d’éviter les conflits d’intérêts dans les affaires qu’ils examinent, ils sont également soumis à des règles déontologiques et de prévention des conflits d’intérêts.
Ces règles, énoncées dans le code monétaire et financier et le règlement général de l’AMF encadrent de façon très précise les conditions dans lesquelles ils doivent assurer leur fonction de membre du Collège :

  • obligation de déclarer les fonctions, missions ou mandats qu’ils ont détenus ou qu’ils détiennent,
  • obligation de communiquer la liste des titres financiers qu’ils détiennent,
  • interdiction de délibérer dans des affaires concernant des entreprises ou organisations dans lesquelles ils (ou des proches) exercent ou ont exercé des fonctions ou eu un intérêt.

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Directeur de la publication : Florence Gaubert, Directrice de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02