General Regulation

Print

Enforcement Committee Presentation

About the AMF Enforcement Committee

Published on November 9, 2016

The Enforcement Committee, which is made up of judges and professionals, has total freedom to make decisions. It can impose sanctions on any person or company whose practices contravene laws and regulations that fall within the jurisdiction of the AMF. It ratifies settlement agreements signed by the Secretary General and respondents. And it takes part in the AMF’s educational efforts by clarifying financial regulations when explaining its decisions.

Contents

Tasks

Discipline

When the AMF Board refers a matter to it, the Enforcement Committee follows a formal procedure to review the case and rule on the charges against the respondents. It may impose fines and/or disciplinary penalties, ranging from a warning or reprimand to a temporary or permanent ban on conducting business or providing some or all services.

Ratify

The Enforcement Committee must ratify settlement agreements signed by respondents and the AMF secretary general and approved by the Board before they are published. However, sanction proceedings will be opened if the Enforcement Committee decides not to ratify a settlement.

Inform professionals and the public

The Enforcement Committee endeavours to provide information to professionals and the public:

  • the committee publishes its decisions, which remind participants of the legal rules and explain the reasoning, content and purpose of sanctions. Thus informed, professionals are in a better position to understand the rules they must abide by
  • committee hearings have been open to the public since October 2010, enabling the public to gain a better understanding of the cases handled
  • the committee regularly publishes documents that help clarify securities law (table of case decisions, briefing sheets and more)
  • the committee holds an annual conference that brings together the financial and academic communities to talk about topics relating to current issues, procedures or case decisions.

Members

12 members not drawn from the Board

The Enforcement Committee is independent from the Board and has 12 members, none of whom sit on the Board:

  • Four judges: two councillors of the Conseil d’Etat appointed by the vice-president of that body and two Court of Cassation trial judges appointed by the chief Justice of that Court;
  • Six professionals with legal and financial expertise and experience, appointed by the economy and finance minister and after consultation with organisations representing industrial and commercial companies whose securities are offered to the public or listed on a regulated market.
  • Two representatives of the employees of finance sector firms, appointed by the economy and finance minister after consultation with representative labour unions.

Ethical rules to prevent conflicts of interest

To prevent conflicts of interest involving the cases that they examine, Enforcement Committee members must comply with ethical rules laid down by law and in the AMF General Regulation.

Accordingly, when they take up office and throughout their appointment, Enforcement Committee members must inform the AMF chairman of:

  • positions that they have held in the last two years or that they hold relating to an economic or financial activity;
  • appointments that they have held in the last two years or that they hold in companies;
  • interests that they have held in the last two years or that they hold, and particularly financial instruments. This information is provided in the form of a list that is updated and provided annually to the AMF chairman.

This information is provided to the chairman of the Enforcement Committee, who ensures, before appointing a rapporteur to a case, that the he or she is not exposed to a possible conflict of interest. Similarly, if, in view of the committee agenda, a member is concerned about a conflict of interest with the persons involved in the sanction proceedings, that member must inform the chairman of the Enforcement Committee of this.There are also rules governing the terms under which members are required to manage their financial products.

Five-year term of office, renewable once

Half the membership of the Enforcement Committee is renewed every 30 months. Members have a five-year once-renewable term of office that runs from the first committee meeting attended.

An elected chairman

A rapporteur appointed for every case
A rapporteur is appointed to investigate every sanction case. Playing a key role in the sanction process, the rapporteur is selected from the committee members by the chairman, who ensures that there is no risk of a conflict of interest, given the persons and/or companies involved. Although present during the hearing, the rapporteur is not involved in – and therefore does not attend – the decision-making stage.

The chairman of the Enforcement Committee is elected by majority vote by the committee members from the four judges appointed by the Conseil d’État and the Court of Cassation. The Enforcement Committee chairman has to be re-elected after each partial renewal, unlike the chairman of the Board, who is appointed by decree, i.e. not by the Board members.

Structured as two divisions

As allowed under the Monetary and Financial Code, the Enforcement Committee comprises two divisions. Each has six members and is chaired by a councillor of the Conseil d’Etat or justice of the Court of Cassation that sits on the committee. The full committee may also be convened.

Contents

Page top

Legal notice

Règlement général

Imprimer

Télécharger

Commission des sanctions Présentation

Présentation de la Commission des sanctions de l’AMF

Publié le 9 novembre 2016

Composée de magistrats et de professionnels, la Commission des sanctions dispose d’une totale autonomie de décision. Elle peut sanctionner toute personne ou société dont les pratiques sont contraires aux lois et règlements du champ de compétence de l’AMF. Elle intervient également pour homologuer les accords de transaction conclus entre le secrétaire général et les mis en cause. Enfin, elle participe à l’effort de pédagogie de l’Institution en précisant, dans la motivation de ses décisions, la réglementation financière.

Ses missions

Sanctionner

Lorsqu’elle est saisie par le Collège de l’AMF, la Commission des sanctions instruit les dossiers et statue sur les faits reprochés aux personnes poursuivies au terme d'une procédure encadrée. Elle peut prononcer des sanctions pécuniaires et/ou disciplinaires (avertissement, blâme, ou interdiction à titre temporaire ou définitif de l'exercice de tout ou partie des services fournis).

Homologuer

Les accords de transaction (ou de composition administrative) conclus entre les personnes mises en cause et le secrétaire général de l’AMF, une fois validés par le Collège, doivent être homologués par la Commission des sanctions avant d’être rendus publics. Toutefois, la Commission des sanctions peut décider de ne pas homologuer une transaction, une procédure de sanction est alors ouverte.

Informer les professionnels & le public 

La Commission des sanctions s’attache, par ailleurs, à informer les professionnels et le public à travers :

  • la publication de ses décisions qui rappellent aux acteurs les règles de droit et expliquent la raison, le contenu et la finalité des sanctions prononcées. Ainsi informés, les professionnels peuvent mieux appréhender les règles qu’ils doivent respecter ;
  • l’ouverture au public des séances de la Commission, depuis octobre 2010, qui permet au public de mieux comprendre les affaires examinées ;
  • des publications régulières, qui offrent un décryptage du droit boursier (table de jurisprudence, fiches pédagogiques, etc.) ; et
  • le colloque annuel de la Commission qui réunit acteurs du secteur financier et universitaires autour de thèmes d’actualité, de procédure ou de jurisprudence.

Ses membres

12 membres distincts de ceux du Collège

La Commission des sanctions est indépendante du Collège et comprend 12 membres distincts de ceux du Collège :

  • Quatre magistrats : deux conseillers d'État désignés par le vice-président du Conseil d'État et deux conseillers à la Cour de cassation désignés par le premier président de la Cour de cassation ;
  • Six professionnels désignés par le ministre de l’Économie, en raison de leur compétence financière et juridique ainsi que de leur expérience, après consultation des organisations représentatives des sociétés industrielles et commerciales dont les titres sont offerts au public ou cotés sur un marché réglementé.
  • Deux représentants des salariés des entreprises du secteur financier désignés par le ministre de l’économie, des finances et de l’industrie, après consultation des organisations syndicales représentatives.

Des règles déontologiques pour prévenir les conflits d’intérêts

Afin de prévenir les conflits d’intérêts dans les affaires qu’ils examinent, les membres de la Commission des sanctions doivent respecter des règles de déontologie énoncées dans la loi et dans le règlement général de l’AMF.

Ainsi, dès leur entrée en fonction, et tout au long de leur mandat, les membres de la Commission des sanctions doivent informer le président de l’AMF :

  • des fonctions qu’ils ont exercées au cours des deux dernières années ou qu’ils exercent dans une activité économique ou financière ;
  • des mandats qu’ils ont détenus au cours des deux dernières années ou qu’ils détiennent dans des sociétés ;
  • des intérêts qu’ils ont détenus au cours des deux dernières années ou qu’ils détiennent et notamment des instruments financiers. Cette information est donnée sous la forme d’une liste mise à jour et transmise chaque année au président de l’AMF.

Ces informations sont transmises au président de la Commission des sanctions qui s’assure, avant de nommer le rapporteur de chaque affaire, que celui-ci ne risque pas d’être en situation de conflit d’intérêts. De même, si au vu de l’ordre du jour des séances, un membre constate qu’il risque d’être en conflit d’intérêts avec les personnes concernées par la procédure de sanction, il doit en informer le président de la Commission des sanctions.

Des règles fixent, enfin, les conditions dans lesquelles doit s’opérer la gestion de leurs produits financiers.

Un mandat de 5 ans renouvelable une fois

La Commission des sanctions est renouvelée par moitié tous les 30 mois. La durée du mandat de ses membres est de 5 ans à partir de la date de la première réunion de la Commission. Ce mandat est renouvelable une fois.

Un président élu

Un rapporteur désigné sur chaque dossier examiné
Le rapporteur est en charge de l’instruction d’un dossier de sanction. Personnage clé de la procédure de sanction, il est désigné parmi les membres de la Commission par le président qui s’assure qu’il ne risque pas de se trouver en conflit d’intérêts compte tenu des personnes et/ou des sociétés faisant l’objet de la procédure. Présent lors de la séance, il n’assiste pas au délibéré car il ne prend pas part à la décision.

Le président de la Commission des sanctions est élu, à la majorité, par les membres de la Commission, parmi les 4 magistrats désignés par le Conseil d’État et la Cour de cassation. Il doit donc être réélu après chaque renouvellement partiel, contrairement au président du Collège qui est désigné par décret, donc sans intervention des membres du Collège.

Une organisation en 2 sections

Comme le permet le code monétaire et financier, la Commission des sanctions a constitué 2 sections pour exercer ses missions. Chacune est composée de 6 membres et est présidée par l'un des conseillers d'État ou des conseillers à la Cour de cassation membres de la Commission. Elle peut aussi se réunir en formation plénière. 

Haut de page