Print

Financial services providers & Crowdfunding

The AMF committed to supporting Fintech, innovation and competitiveness

Published on May 2, 2019

With its dedicated Fintech, innovation and competitiveness division, the AMF supports innovative project holders, suggests regulatory changes and works to facilitate the development of innovative companies. With the French Prudential Supervision and Resolution Authority (ACPR), the AMF takes part in the development of a supportive ecosystem for the emergence of Fintech and leads an advisory and consultative body between professionals and institutions, the Fintech Forum.

A dedicated Fintech, innovation and competitiveness team

Understand and support innovation is a strategic priority of the AMF. The FinTech, Innovation and Competitiveness Division (DFIC) was created in June 2016. It is composed of six members and is headed by Domitille Dessertine. Its objectives are:

  • to work with financial stakeholders to analyse ongoing innovations in the investment services sector ;
  • to identify the issues of competitiveness and financial regulation ;
  • to assess the need to change the European regulation or the AMF doctrine.

FicTeam

From left to right : Domitille Dessertine, Alexandre Barrat, Adam Stolcz, Louis Charpentier, Corinne Nurit and Julien Nivot

The missions of the "Fintech, innovation and competitiveness" division (DFIC)

Support the development of “Fintechs”

One of the missions of the DFIC is to provide innovative firms with a contact point. The dedicated team supports their development during the pre-approval, the accreditation period and post-approval phases. 

Reflect on innovation trends and potential regulatory changes

The FIC division identify new models, new financial techniques and technologies that may call into question existing customer behaviours and stakeholder practices. Risk assessment associated with new practices is scrutinised by the division. Based on these findings, the division is also engaged in some reflection on possible changes to the national, European and international regulatory framework.

For example, the AMF has actively participated in the development of a national legal framework for the issuance of ICOs tokens and published a study analysing French ICOs projects in November 2018.

Work for the Paris market place competitiveness

The AMF is working to increase the capacity of companies under its supervision to develop their activities at the international level and to make national and European regulations more readable for foreign players who wish to settle in France.

In this regard, the AMF contributes actively to reflections on innovation within an ecosystem made up of institutional actors (ACPR, BdF, DGT, CNIL, ANSSI, French Parliament, European Parliament, European Commission, etc.) as well as local stakeholders (start-ups, innovative firms, industry associations, academics and researchers).

 

“A complete overhaul of our regulatory framework to accommodate innovations is by no means desirable. […] Nevertheless, we also believe that in the light of the swift pace of innovation, a regulatory status-quo might equally very well be prejudicial  […] we need an EU-wide digital strategy.”

Robert Ophèle, AMF Chairman, 26 February 2019, 3rd Annual Fintech Conference - Brussels

AMF / ACPR: a common approach to support Fintech firms

To support the Fintech, the AMF and the ACPR have adopted a common approach to coordinate their action on the reception and regulation of innovative projects.

Both receive innovative project holders, help them to better understand the financial regulation and advise them in the pre-approval phase on the legal framework that appear the most appropriate regarding their activities and during the project life in case of significant changes in their strategy.

An AMF/ACPR Fintech Forum to host a dialogue between stakeholders and institutions

The Fintech Forum is an advisory and dialogue forum between professionals and institutions. It meets several times a year to discuss regulatory and supervisory topics related to Fintech and innovation trends. The AMF co-leads this forum with the ACPR.

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Prestataires financiers & FinTech

L’AMF mobilisée pour accompagner les Fintech, l’innovation et la compétitivité

Publié le 17 avril 2019

Avec son équipe dédiée aux Fintech, à l’innovation et à la compétitivité, l’AMF accompagne les porteurs de projets, propose des évolutions de la réglementation et s’emploie à faciliter le développement des entreprises innovantes. Avec l’ACPR, elle participe au développement d’un écosystème favorable à l’émergence des Fintech et elle anime une instance consultative et de dialogue entre les professionnels et les institutions, le Forum Fintech.

Une équipe dédiée aux Fintech, à l’innovation et à la compétitivité

Comprendre et accompagner l’innovation est une priorité stratégique de l’AMF. La division « Fintech, innovation et compétitivité » (DFIC) a été créée en juin 2016. Elle est composée de 6 personnes et est dirigée par Domitille Dessertine. Elle a pour objectifs :

  • de travailler avec les acteurs afin d’analyser les innovations en cours dans le secteur des services d’investissement,
  • d’identifier les enjeux en matière de compétitivité et de régulation,
  • d’évaluer la nécessité de faire évoluer la réglementation européenne ou la doctrine de l’AMF.

Equipe DFIC AMF

De gauche à droite : Domitille Dessertine, Alexandre Barrat, Adam Stolcz, Louis Charpentier, Corinne Nurit et Julien Nivot

Les missions de la division « Fintech, innovation et compétitivité » (DFIC)

Accompagner les « Fintechs »

La DFIC est le point de contact chez le régulateur pour les porteurs de projets innovants. Elle soutient leur développement pendant les phases de pré-agrément, d’agrément et de post-agrément.

Réfléchir autour de l’innovation et des évolutions potentielles du cadre réglementaire

La DFIC identifie de nouveaux modèles, de nouvelles techniques et technologies financières susceptibles de remettre en question les comportements des clients et les pratiques existantes des acteurs, afin d’évaluer les risques associés aux nouvelles pratiques. Sur la base de ces constats, elle propose d’éventuelles évolutions du cadre réglementaire national, européen et international.

Par exemple, l’AMF a participé activement aux travaux d’élaboration d’un cadre juridique national concernant l’émission de jeton d’ICOs et a publié une étude analysant les projets d’ICOs françaises en novembre 2018.

Œuvrer pour la compétitivité de la Place de Paris

L’AMF s’emploie à faciliter le développement à l’international des entreprises et à rendre la réglementation nationale et européenne plus lisible pour les acteurs étrangers qui souhaiteraient s’installer en France.

Dans cette perspective, l’AMF contribue activement aux réflexions en matière d’innovation au sein d’un écosystème composé aussi bien d’acteurs institutionnels (ACPR, BdF, DGT, CNIL, ANSSI, Parlement français, Parlement européen, Commission européenne, etc.) que d’acteurs de la place (start-ups, grands groupes, associations professionnelles, universitaires et chercheurs). 

« Une refonte complète de notre cadre réglementaire pour prendre en considération les innovations financières n'est en aucun cas souhaitable. […] Néanmoins, nous pensons que, compte tenu de la rapidité de ces innovations, un statu quo réglementaire pourrait être préjudiciable […] nous avons donc besoin d'une stratégie numérique à l'échelle de l'UE »

Robert Ophèle président de l’AMF, 26 février 2019, extrait du discours prononcé à la 3eme Annual Fintech Conference – Bruxelles

AMF/ACPR : une démarche commune d’accompagnement des Fintech

Pour accompagner les Fintech, l’AMF et l’ACPR ont entrepris une démarche commune pour coordonner leur action en matière d’accueil et de régulation des projets innovants.

Elles reçoivent les porteurs de projets, les aident à mieux appréhender la réglementation et les conseillent en phase de pré-agrément sur les statuts qui apparaissent les plus appropriés au regard de leurs activités et en cours de vie en cas d’évolution significative de leur stratégie.

Un Forum Fintech AMF/ACPR pour permettre un dialogue entre professionnels et institutions

Le Forum Fintech est une instance consultative et de dialogue entre les professionnels et les institutions. L’AMF le co-anime avec l’ACPR. Il se réunit plusieurs fois par an pour traiter de sujets réglementaires et de supervision liés aux Fintech et à l’innovation.

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02