Print

Newsletters & other publications Risk and Trend Mapping: Archive

2019 Markets and Risk Outlook

Published on July 2, 2019

The AMF issued its 2019 Markets and Risk Outlook, a yearly risk assessment based upon the economic, financial and regulatory evolutions. It focuses more specifically on the financing of the economic activity, on the financial markets’ structure, on the asset management industry and on the household savings.

Read on

Analysis of the aggressive behaviour of market participants: do HFTs trade opportunely?

Published on March 12, 2019

This microstructure study analyses the market participants "aggressive" orders on the most liquid stocks on Euronext Paris during a 3 months period, from September 2017 to November 2017. The aim of this work is on the one hand to quantify the impact of these orders on price formation, and on the other to estimate the informational advantage of High Frequency Traders compared to the rest of the market.

Read on

MiFID II: Impact of the new tick size regime after several months of implementation

Published on February 15, 2019

After an initial study carried out just after the implementation of the harmonised tick size regime in Europe on 3 January 2018, further to the new Markets in Financial Instruments framework (MiFID 2), the Autorité des Marchés Financiers has published an analysis carried out over a longer period including phases of greater volatility. This new study confirms the positive effects that were initially observed.

Read on

The comparative performance of different investment strategies on foreign financial instruments

Published on February 11, 2019

The AMF publishes a study that complements the analysis on the comparative performance of different savings strategies that use French instruments, by extending it to other countries (equity and bond indices from the US, Germany and Japan). The Japanese case, particularly atypical, is described more specifically. What returns could be expected should we hypothesize a Japanese-style scenario for the future? We adopt the point of view of a French saver who would have been confronted with a counter-factual scenario for asset prices (i.e. reflecting not the historical French series, but rather the Japanese ones). The results displayed account for stylized hypotheses on fees and taxes, and distinguish one-off investments from regular savings.

Read on

First results from AIFM reporting

Published on January 23, 2019

In response to the 2008 financial crisis, the AIFM Directive imposes a set of requirements on asset managers, including a reporting to regulators. This first study on alternative funds in France provides information on funds’ portfolio, their exposures and their risk level. On the whole, the majority of AIFs are traditional funds, whereas there are very few of the riskiest funds, especially hedge funds. Their exposure, liquidity management and use of leverage are consistent with their investment strategies, at an aggregated level as well as on a fund-by-fund basis. This study will help to better monitor alternative funds and will participate in the revision of European regulations.

Read on

French ICOs - A New Method of Financing?

Published on November 14, 2018

ICOs, a recent phenomenon, appear to be a method of fundraising that is still in its infancy and that is beginning to take shape, allowing the emergence and the financing of new businesses in innovative technology sectors. At the global level, ICO financing remains marginal, but a recent form of professionalisation and concentration can be observed. Analysis of French ICO projects, with the help of an original database, demonstrates the growing interest in this type of fundraising by certain project initiators, who seem to welcome the opportunity to call on a community of international investors and introduce this method along with other, more traditional methods of financing. In order to ensure the protection of consumers, the study also presents the French proposal for an optional ICO visa.

Read on

Study of the Volatility of French Money Market Funds

Published on October 31, 2018

In order to mark the entry into force of European regulation on money-market funds, the AMF carried out a historical analysis of the volatility of French money market funds, both standard funds and short-term funds, whose net asset value varies depending on their market value.The analysis shows that daily volatility on an annualised basis for French money market funds is low overall.

Read on

2018 Markets and Risk Outlook

Published on July 5, 2018

The AMF issued its 2018 Markets and Risk Outlook, a yearly risk assessment based upon the economic, financial and regulatory evolutions. It focuses more specifically on the financing of the economic activity, on the financial markets’ structure, on the asset management industry and on the household savings.

Read on

Closet Index Funds: a contribution to the debate in Europe

Published on July 3, 2018

The possible existence of closet index funds, is an important matter for financial regulators, including the AMF, both in terms of financial information and investor protection. Today the AMF is keen to contribute to the European debate and analysed nearly 800 French funds using a method based on fund return and market data. It enables more funds to be examined than was previously possible, especially through a holding-based approach. This approach does not relieve the regulator of carrying out an in-depth individual analysis of the funds flagged as least active in the sample.

Read on

Macro-stress tests: What do they mean for the markets and for the asset management industry?

Published on June 13, 2018

The Autorité des marchés financiers proposes a review and analysis of macro stress tests carried out by authorities in the field of financial markets and asset management and possible ways to improve their development for the future.

Read on

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Lettres & cahiers Risques & tendances : Archives

Comportement agressif des participants de marché : les HFT traitent-ils au moment opportun ?

Publié le 12 mars 2019

Cette étude de microstructure analyse les ordres dits agressif des participants de marché sur les valeurs liquides d’Euronext Paris sur une période de 3 mois, entre septembre 2017 et novembre 2017. Son objectif est d’un côté de quantifier l’impact de ces ordres sur la formation des prix, et de l’autre côté d’estimer l’avantage informationnel des traders haute fréquence par rapport aux autres participants de marché. (La version française en résumant les principales constatations, se référer à la version anglaise pour accéder à l’étude entière).

Lire la suite

MIF 2 : Impact du nouveau régime de pas de cotation après plusieurs mois de recul

Publié le 15 février 2019

Après une toute première étude réalisée au lendemain de la mise en place du régime harmonisé de pas de cotation en Europe au 3 janvier 2018 découlant du nouveau cadre des marchés d’instruments financiers (MIF 2), l’Autorité des marchés financiers publie une analyse sur une période plus longue incluant des phases de volatilité intense. Cette nouvelle étude vient confirmer les premiers effets vertueux observés.

Lire la suite

Performances comparées de différentes stratégies d'épargne sur supports étrangers

Publié le 8 février 2019

L’AMF publie une étude prolongeant l’analyse de la performance comparée de différentes stratégies d’épargne sur supports français, en l’étendant à d’autres juridictions (indices actions et obligations aux États-Unis, en Allemagne et au Japon). Le cas japonais, particulièrement atypique, est plus spécifiquement étudié. Quel rendement espérer dans l’hypothèse d’un scénario « à la japonaise » pour le futur ? Le point de vue adopté est celui d’un épargnant français qui aurait été confronté à des actifs domestiques dont les rendements auraient répliqué ceux des titres japonais. Les résultats prennent en compte des hypothèses stylisées de frais et de fiscalité et distinguent le cas de l’investissement unique de celui de l’effort continu d’épargne.

Lire la suite

Premiers enseignements du reporting AIFM

Publié le 23 janvier 2019

En réponse à la crise financière de 2008, la Directive AIFM soumet les gestionnaires à une série d’obligations dont la communication d’un reporting en risque à la destination du régulateur. Cette première étude sur les fonds alternatifs en France fournit des informations sur la composition de leurs portefeuilles, leurs expositions et sur leur niveau de risque. Globalement, la majorité des FIA sont des fonds traditionnels, alors que les fonds les plus risqués comme les hedge funds sont peu nombreux. Leur exposition, la gestion de la liquidité et le recours au levier semblent cohérents avec leurs stratégies d’investissement, au niveau agrégé mais également fonds par fonds. Cette étude a vocation à mieux surveiller les FIA et à participer à la révision des textes européens.

Lire la suite

ICO françaises : un nouveau mode de financement

Publié le 14 novembre 2018

Phénomène récent, les ICO apparaissent comme un mode de levée de fonds encore naissant et qui tend à se structurer, permettant l’émergence et le financement de nouvelles entreprises de secteurs technologiques et innovants. L’analyse du marché mondial met en avant le caractère encore marginal de ce mode de financement, mais qui tend à se concentrer et se structurer. L’analyse des projets d’ICO françaises, à l’aide d’une base de données originale, souligne l’intérêt croissant de ce mécanisme de levée de fonds par certains porteurs de projets, qui semblent plébisciter la possibilité de faire appel à une communauté d’investisseurs internationaux et l’introduire en sus d’autres canaux de financement plus traditionnels. Afin d’assurer la protection des consommateurs, l’étude présente enfin la proposition française de visa optionnel des ICO.

Lire la suite

Etude sur la volatilité des fonds monétaires français

Publié le 24 octobre 2018

A l’occasion de l’entrée en application du règlement européen sur les fonds monétaires, l’AMF a procédé à une analyse historique de la volatilité des fonds monétaires français, fonds standard et fonds court terme, dont la valeur liquidative fluctue en fonction de leur valeur de marché. Il ressort que la volatilité journalière annualisée des fonds monétaires français est globalement faible.

Lire la suite

Cartographie 2018 des marchés et des risques

Publié le 5 juillet 2018

L’AMF a publié sa cartographie 2018 qui constitue un panorama de l’évolution sur un an des risques liés à l’actualité économique, financière et réglementaire. Elle analyse le financement de l’économie, les marchés ainsi que l’épargne des ménages et la gestion collective.

Lire la suite

Fonds pseudo-actifs (closet index funds) : une contribution au débat en Europe

Publié le 3 juillet 2018

La possibilité de l’existence de fonds pseudo-actifs (closet index funds en anglais) constitue pour les régulateurs, dont l’Autorité des marchés financiers, un enjeu à la fois en termes d’information financière et de protection des investisseurs. L’AMF souhaite contribuer au débat européen et a testé sur près de 800 fonds français une méthode d’analyse privilégiant l’étude des rendements des fonds et les données de marché. Cette méthode permet d’examiner davantage de fonds que d'autres approches, notamment celles qui analysent la composition des portefeuilles des fonds. Elle n’affranchit toutefois pas les régulateurs d’une analyse individuelle des fonds que la méthode identifie comme les moins actifs.

Lire la suite

Macro stress tests : quelle portée pour les marchés et la gestion d'actifs ?

Publié le 13 juin 2018

L’Autorité des marchés financiers propose une revue et une analyse des tests de résistance aux chocs (macro stress tests) menés par les autorités dans le domaine des marchés financiers et de la gestion d’actifs et des pistes d’amélioration pour leur développement à venir.

Lire la suite

Épisode de volatilité début février 2018 : l'impact des produits sur VIX

Publié le 19 avril 2018

Ce document propose une analyse de la flambée de l’indice VIX début février 2018 à travers l’impact amplificateur des produits qui lui sont indexés. Si les détenteurs de placements collectifs français n’ont pas été directement touchés, l’ampleur de certaines stratégies d’investissement basées sur la volatilité appelle à la vigilance et montre l’utilité des mécanismes de protection contre les variations de cours les plus aberrantes de type coupe-circuits.

Lire la suite

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Suivant

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02