Print

In-depth Savings & services providers: Miscellaneous

Provision of investment services: update of the policy

Published on October 30, 2019

The AMF has updated its policy on the provision of investment services. The objective is to update the references found in the policy documents and make the adjustments required by the update of the legislative and regulatory provisions following the transposition of MiFID II and the separation of the legal system applicable to asset management companies from that of investment companies.

Update of the position on the investment advice service

The AMF has updated its position DOC-2008-23 on the investment advice service. Initially published as a position-recommandation under the first Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID I), this policy document is now refocused on the concept of investment advice service. Some of the obligations of providers of  this investment service, which were initially set out in the policy document, are now specifically regulated by the regime arising from MiFID II, in particular by Positions DOC-2018-04 and DOC-2019-03 which incorporate guidelines developed by the ESMA.

Scope Reference Title
Position DOC-2008-23 Questions and answers on the concept of investment advice investment service 

Update of instruction DOC-2014-01 on the programme of operations of investment services providers

The purpose of instruction DOC-2014-01 is to set out the conditions under which the AMF instructs the programme of operations of investment services providers (ISP) other than asset management companies. This update takes into account in particular the change in the allocation of competencies in the authorisation procedure of ISP between the Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) and the AMF. Since 3 January 2018, the AMF has been tasked with approving the programme of operations of all ISPs who have filed an application with the ACPR for authorisation to provide investment services, regardless of the considered investment service. Prior to this, the AMF approved the programme of operations only when the investment services  concerned were investment advice or portofolio management. For other services, it only made observations.

This instruction is not intended to cover the entire authorisation process for ISPs, in particular the part of the process that is covered by the ACPR. It must be remembered that this authorisation application established pursuant, in particular, to Delegated Regulation (EU) 2017/1943 of the Commission of 14 July 2016 and Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/1945 of the Commission of 19 June 2017, is filed with the ACPR.

It must also be noted that, with this update, the authorisation process for ISPs who provide one or more data reporting services has been included in instruction 2014-01.

Scope Reference Title
Instruction DOC-2014-01 Programme of operations of investment services providers and AMF notification procedure

Update of the policy relating to discretionary management

The service of portfolio management for third parties (or discretionary management) was addressed by AMF policy primarily in two documents:

  • Position-Recommendation DOC-2007-21 on the professional obligations towards retail clients imposed on investment services providers managing a portfolio on behalf of a third party, published under MiFID I, which addressed among others, the content of discretionary mandates or mandates invested in unlisted securities;
  • Instruction DOC-2018-11 relating to agreements concluded by investment services providers with retail clients regardingasset management for third parties, published under MiFID II.

To clarify and facilitate access to its policy by market participants, the AMF has merged Position-Recommendation DOC-2007-21 with Instruction DOC-2018-11, without changing the scope of the policy’s content that ismaintained and updated (instruction, position or recommendation).

The AMF has therefore published an Instruction-Position-Recommendation DOC-2019-12 which groups together, by theme, the various types of policy relating to the professional obligations of ISPs, including asset management companies, with respect to retail clients as regards the provision of discretionary portofolio management. The policy presented in this document is in the form of instructions, in principle, except when positions or recommendations are specifically identified.

Scope Reference Title
Instruction-Position-Recommendation DOC-2019-12 Professional obligations of investment services providers towards retail clients when providing  discretionary portfolio management.

 

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Dossiers thématiques Épargne & prestataires: Divers gestion d'actifs

Fourniture de services d’investissement : mise à jour de la doctrine

Publié le 18 octobre 2019

L’AMF met à jour sa doctrine sur la fourniture de services d’investissement. Objectif : actualiser les références présentes dans les documents de doctrine et procéder aux ajustements qui découlent de l’évolution des textes législatifs et réglementaires à la suite de la transposition de la directive MIF 2 et de la séparation du régime juridique des sociétés de gestion de portefeuille (SGP) de celui des entreprises d’investissement (EI).

Mise à jour de la position sur le service de conseil en investissement

L’AMF publie la mise à jour de sa position DOC-2008-23 concernant le service de conseil en investissement. Initialement une position-recommandation publiée sous la première directive sur les marchés d’instruments financiers (MIF 1), ce document de doctrine est aujourd’hui recentré sur la notion de service de conseil en investissement. Certaines obligations des prestataires qui fournissent ce service d’investissement, qui étaient à l’origine reprises dans ce document de doctrine, sont désormais précisément encadrées par le régime issu de MIF 2, notamment par les positions DOC-2018-04 et DOC-2019-03 qui reprennent des orientations développées par l’ESMA.

Portée Référence Titre
Position DOC-2008-23 Questions-réponses sur la notion de service d’investissement de conseil en investissement 

Mise à jour de l’instruction DOC-2014-01 relative au programme d’activité des prestataires de services d’investissement

L’instruction DOC-2014-01 vise à préciser les conditions d’instruction par l’AMF du programme d’activité des prestataires de services d’investissement (PSI) autres que les sociétés de gestion de portefeuille. Cette mise à jour tient compte notamment de l’évolution de la répartition des compétences dans le cadre de la procédure d’agrément de ces prestataires entre l'Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (l’ACPR) et l’AMF. Depuis le 3 janvier 2018, cette dernière se voit désormais confier l'approbation du programme d'activité de l’ensemble des PSI ayant entamé une procédure d'agrément pour la fourniture d’un service d’investissement auprès de l'ACPR, quel que soit le service d'investissement envisagé. Auparavant, l’AMF approuvait le programme d’activité uniquement lorsqu’il portait sur les services de conseil en investissement ou de gestion de portefeuille pour le compte de tiers. Pour les autres services, l’AMF émettait seulement des observations.

Cette instruction n’a pas vocation à couvrir l’intégralité de la procédure d’agrément d’un PSI, en particulier la partie relevant de l’ACPR. Pour rappel, la demande d’agrément établie dans les conditions prévues notamment par le règlement délégué (UE) 2017/1943 de la Commission du 14 juillet 2016 et le règlement d’exécution (UE) 2017/1945 de la Commission du 19 juin 2017 s’effectue auprès de l’ACPR.

A noter également qu’à l’occasion de cette mise à jour, la procédure d’autorisation des PSI fournissant un ou plusieurs services de communication de données a été intégrée dans l’instruction 2014-01.

Portée Référence Titre
Instruction DOC-2014-01 Programme d’activité des prestataires de services d’investissement et information de l’AMF

Mise à jour de la doctrine relative à la gestion sous mandat

Le service de gestion de portefeuille pour le compte de tiers (ou gestion sous mandat) était traité par la doctrine de l’AMF principalement dans deux documents :

  • La position-recommandation DOC-2007-21 sur les obligations professionnelles à l’égard des clients non professionnels en matière de gestion de portefeuille pour le compte de tiers, publiée sous les textes MIF 1, laquelle traitait notamment du contenu des mandats de gestion ou encore des mandats investis en titres non cotés ;

  • L’instruction DOC-2018-11 relative aux conventions conclues par les prestataires de services d’investissement avec les clients non professionnels en matière de gestion de portefeuille pour compte de tiers, publiée sous les textes MIF 2.

Dans un objectif de clarification et afin de faciliter l’accès des acteurs à sa doctrine, l’AMF a fusionné la position-recommandation DOC-2007-21avec l’instruction DOC-2018-11, sans modifier la portée des éléments de doctrine conservés (instruction, position ou recommandation).

L’AMF publie donc une instruction-position-recommandation DOC-2019-12 qui regroupe, par thème, les différents éléments de doctrine relatifs aux obligations professionnelles des PSI, y compris les SGP, à l’égard des clients non professionnels, en matière de gestion de portefeuille pour le compte de tiers. Les éléments de doctrine figurant dans ce document sont en principe des instructions, sauf lorsque des positions ou des recommandations sont spécialement identifiées.

Portée Référence Titre
Instruction-position-recommandation DOC-2019-12 Obligations professionnelles des prestataires de services d’investissement à l’égard des clients non professionnels en matière de gestion de portefeuille pour le compte de tiers

 

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02