Print

In-depth Sustainable finance

Publication by ESMA of technical advice on the integration of ESG risks and factors

Published on May 20, 2019

The European Commission has made sustainable finance one of its priorities, with the launch of an Action Plan in March 2018. In this context, in early May ESMA published two sets of technical advice for investment services and asset managers on the integration of environmental, social and governance (ESG) risks and factors.

ESMA's position

This advice was sent to the European Commission which will then decide on changes on certain (level 2) texts implementing the MiFID 2, AIFM and UCITS directives. Regarding organisational requirements, ESMA has adopted a proportionate approach, allowing market participants time to adapt their organisation and resources and to take into account the specific features of their business and their organisation model, as well as the rapid changes seen in the market. For investment firms, another part of the advice concerns the rules applicable to product governance: this involves taking into account the changes introduced by the European Commission to take into account clients' ESG preferences, while watching out for any risks of mis-selling. ESMA also stresses the importance of clarifying the environmental, social and governance terminology used in order to permit consistent application of these new obligations.

The AMF involved in the European regulatory work

The AMF contributed to the drafting of this technical advice and is closely monitoring European regulatory work related to the European Commission's Action Plan for sustainable finance. The AMF will notably be involved in two projects in the coming months: discussions on the planned eco-label for financial products, and preparation, in conjunction with the other European regulators, of technical standards for the new European Regulation on disclosures relating to sustainable investments and sustainability risks. The Paris marketplace already has a significant lead in these areas, notably thanks to the existing labels (SRI and TEEC) and transparency practices implemented since 2016 by asset managers and institutional investors pursuant to Article 173 of the "LTEV" Act for energy transition and green growth. The AMF will work closely with the various stakeholders to accompany them in implementing the new provisions of the European texts. 

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Dossiers thématiques Finance durable

Publication par l’ESMA d’avis techniques sur l’intégration des risques et facteurs ESG

Publié le 17 mai 2019

La Commission européenne a fait de la finance durable une de ses priorités avec le lancement d’un plan d’action en mars 2018. Dans ce cadre, l’ESMA a publié début mai deux avis techniques sur l’intégration des risques et facteurs environnementaux, sociaux, sociétaux et de gouvernance (ESG) pour les entreprises d’investissement et les gérants d’actifs.

La position de l’ESMA

Ces avis ont été transmis à la Commission européenne qui devra ensuite, sur cette base, amender certains textes d’application (niveau 2) des directives MIF 2, AIFM et OPCVM. En matière d’exigences organisationnelles, l’ESMA a adopté une approche proportionnée, pour laisser aux acteurs le temps d’adapter leur organisation et leurs moyens et prendre en compte les spécificités de leurs activités et modèle d’organisation, ainsi que les évolutions rapides observées dans le marché. Pour les entreprises d’investissement, un autre volet concerne les règles applicables à la gouvernance des produits : il s’agit là de refléter les changements introduits par la Commission européenne pour prendre en compte les préférences ESG des clients, tout en veillant aux risques éventuels de mauvaise commercialisation. L’ESMA souligne également l’importance de clarifier la terminologie utilisée pour les termes liés à l’environnement, le social et la gouvernance afin de permettre une mise en œuvre cohérente de ces nouvelles obligations.

L’AMF mobilisée sur les travaux européens

L’AMF a contribué à la rédaction de ces avis techniques et suit de près les travaux européens en lien avec le Plan d’action de la Commission européenne pour la finance durable. Deux chantiers mobiliseront notamment l’AMF dans les prochains mois : les discussions sur le projet d’éco-label pour les produits financiers et la préparation en collaboration avec les autres régulateurs européens de standards techniques dans le cadre du nouveau règlement européen relatif à la publication d’informations relatives aux investissements durables et aux risques en matière de durabilité. La Place de Paris dispose déjà d’une avance importante dans ces domaines, en particulier grâce aux labels existants (ISR et TEEC) et aux pratiques de transparence mises en œuvre depuis 2016 par les gestionnaires d’actifs et les investisseurs institutionnels en application de l’article 173 de la Loi pour la transition énergétique et la croissance verte (LTEV). L’AMF restera à l’écoute des différentes parties prenantes de la Place afin de les accompagner dans la mise en œuvre des nouvelles dispositions prévues par les textes européens.

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02